Sufjan Stevens Releases New Song “Mercury”

Sufjan Stevens Releases New Song “Mercury”

Listen to the spacey new track now.

Listen to the spacey new track now.

Text: Jake Viswanath

Sufjan Stevens is about to teach you more about outer space than you ever needed to know. The talented singer-songwriter released “Mercury” today, the latest track off his upcoming concept album Planetarium, created in collaboration with Bryce Dessner of The National, composer Nico Muhly, and drummer James McAllister.

The song fittingly plays as the soundtrack of an actual planetarium, with Stevens’s light and airy vocals floating above the heavenly instrumentation and Dessner’s soft guitar riffs. If lead single “Saturn” and the ambitious tracklist is any indication, prepare to recollect all the astronomy information you forgot since that class in high school. See the artsy, galactic album cover and tracklist below, which reads like the syllabus for said class.

01. Neptune

02. Jupiter

03. Halley’s Comet

04. Venus

05. Uranus

06. Mars

07. Black Energy

08. Sun

09. Tides

10. Moon

11. Pluto

12. Kuiper Belt

13. Black Hole

14. Saturn

15. In the Beginning

16. Earth

17. Mercury


ASAP Ferg and Uniform Launch Collaboration, "Traplord x Uniform"