NBA 75 Team is Announced in Honor of the 75th Anniversary Season

In total, this team has a total of 158 NBA championships, 730 NBA All-Star selections, and 1.5 million points scored.

Basketball is back, and in celebration of the NBA’s 75th anniversary, the league has created a list of the 75 greatest players in NBA history, aka NBA 75.

This team was chosen by a panel of current and former players, general managers and team and league executives, and WNBA legends, sportswriters, and broadcasters. Of course, voters were only allowed to select players without regard to position, and current and former players weren’t allowed to vote for themselves.

Altogether, this team has a total of 158 NBA championships, 730 NBA All-Star selections, a combined 110 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Awards and Bill Russell NBA Finals MVP Awards, and – wait for it – 1.5 million points scored.

Because there was a tie in voting, the 75th Anniversary Team actually features 76 players, including eleven actives: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Carmelo Anthony, Stephen Curry, Anthony Davis, Kevin Durant, James Harden, LeBron James, Kawhi Leonard, Damian Lillard, Chris Paul, and Russell Westbrook. The team is also comprised of all 50 members of the NBA 50th Anniversary team, named in 1996, and four players from the very first NBA All-Star Game in 1951: Paul Arizin, Bob Cousy, George Mikan, and Dolph Schayes. Additionally, six international players from six countries and territories made the list: Antetokounmpo (Greece), Tim Duncan (U.S. Virgin Islands), Patrick Ewing (Jamaica), Steve Nash (Canada), Dirk Nowitzki (Germany), and Hakeem Olajuwon (Nigeria).

Besides honoring players through NBA 75, the 75th anniversary with also be celebrated throughout the 2021-22 season with several classic matchups. First up is the game between the Knicks and the Raptors on Nov. 1, the date of the 75th anniversary of the NBA’s first regular-season game in 1946. The league is also designing a special 75th anniversary season logo and new Classic and City Edition uniforms for players. Plus, Hall of Famers Clyde Drexler, Magic Johnson, Bob Pettit, Oscar Robertson, and 14-time All-Star Dirk Nowitzki, who are also on the list, will be ambassadors during the entirety of the season, with a large presence at league events, like the 2022 All-Star Game in Cleveland on Feb. 20.

Without further ado, here are the biggest legends of the NBA, listed in alphabetical order. Buckle up.

  1. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
  2. Ray Allen
  3. Giannis Antetokounmpo
  4. Carmelo Anthony
  5. Nate Archibald
  6. Paul Arizin
  7. Charles Barkley
  8. Rick Barry
  9. Elgin Baylor
  10. Dave Bing
  11. Larry Bird
  12. Kobe Bryant
  13. Wilt Chamberlain
  14. Bob Cousy
  15. Dave Cowens
  16. Billy Cunningham
  17. Stephen Curry
  18. Anthony Davis
  19. Dave DeBusschere
  20. Clyde Drexler
  21. Tim Duncan
  22. Kevin Durant
  23. Julius Erving
  24. Patrick Ewing
  25. Walt Frazier
  26. Kevin Garnett
  27. George Gervin
  28. Hal Greer
  29. James Harden
  30. John Havlicek
  31. Elvin Hayes
  32. Allen Iverson
  33. LeBron James
  34. Magic Johnson
  35. Sam Jones
  36. Michael Jordan
  37. Jason Kidd
  38. Kawhi Leonard
  39. Damian Lillard
  40. Jerry Lucas
  41. Karl Malone
  42. Moses Malone
  43. Pete Maravich
  44. Bob McAdoo
  45. Kevin McHale
  46. George Mikan
  47. Reggie Miller
  48. Earl Monroe
  49. Steve Nash
  50. Dirk Nowitzki
  51. Hakeem Olajuwon
  52. Shaquille O’Neal
  53. Robert Parish
  54. Chris Paul
  55. Gary Payton
  56. Bob Pettit
  57. Paul Pierce
  58. Scottie Pippen
  59. Willis Reed
  60. Oscar Robertson
  61. David Robinson
  62. Dennis Rodman
  63. Bill Russell
  64. Dolph Schayes
  65. Bill Sharman
  66. John Stockton
  67. Isiah Thomas
  68. Nate Thurmond
  69. Wes Unseld
  70. Dwyane Wade
  71. Bill Walton
  72. Jerry West
  73. Russell Westbrook
  74. Lenny Wilkens
  75. Dominique Wilkins
  76. James Worthy


Check out the NBA 75 Trailer below.

Discover More